Quik Clot vs Celox

Discussion in 'First Aid' started by Pax tibi, May 9, 2014.

1. Pax tibi

Pax tibi
    Expand Collapse

What are the pro/cons of each? which one clots fast? What would you rather use? I'm really looking for opinions, especially from those in the medical field.

2. MedicDelta

MedicDelta
    Expand Collapse
    Emergency Medical Responder

At the end of the day, it really doesn't matter what you get. They're both great. I'm an EMT and I personally carry QuikClot in my personal medical kit. But that's just me. I've heard a tactical medic say that he preferred Celox before and I've heard some military medics say the opposite. It's all opinion based really. Either one is a great hemostatic agent and will work just fine for severe hemmorhages.

Ben Rubinstein likes this.
  3. Ian McDevitt

Ian McDevitt
    Expand Collapse

Ok, not bad, though it's a little more complicated than that. This is going to a simplified version of something that doesn't have to be complicated. One of the agents is a mineral based agent (quick-Clot), the other is Chitosin based (celox). They kind of work similar except the mineral based , the kaolin, fits in or activates the bodies clotting cascade ( which are the bodies steps it takes in order for blood to clot) it's believed this agent helps wounds clot quicker. The chitosin BASICALLY absorbs the fluid from the blood leaving the clotting agent, hence, wounds clot quicker. None of the agents work without your traditional steps to control bleeding i.e.: direct pressure, pressure dressing, yada, yada, yada. The chitosin can be absorbed by the body as glucosamine. This explanation contains none of the science behind it so don't anyone get their knickers in a twist. I personally use Rapid Celox and Celox-A. I'll tell you why later.....

Ben Rubinstein likes this.
  4. charlie fox

charlie fox
    Expand Collapse
    EDC Scholar